Roasted Harissa Chicken

I mentioned yesterday on Instagram (you should follow me @j_heino) that I was going to post the recipe for this chicken. IMG_2502

I got busy with work and the stresses of life and haven’t really had time to sit down and explain what this recipe means. I finally found a few minutes today at the end of work so that’s what I’m going to do now.

This recipe single-handedly got me hooked on cooking. I’ve always enjoyed cooking, but especially more so after I moved to DC and had an income that gave me the opportunity to make decent food. I lived off rice and pasta in college, you can ask Jess. Cooking something delicious was rare.

Once Jess and I found our own place in the District, I finally had my own, teensy, tiny, little, kitchen. But it was a kitchen, with an oven and a stove and 1 square foot of counter space. I made it work. This recipe was a huge part of that.

I found it in this New York Times article in late 2015 and figured I’d give it a shot. The best part about this recipe is the steps are really broken up. For marinating the chicken and potato slices, all you need is a knife, cutting board, and two bowls (one large and one small). Cut the potatoes into 1/4″ slices and dump into the bowl with the chicken. In the smaller bowl, mix the cumin, harissa, and olive oil. Dump the marinade over the seasoned potatoes and chicken and let sit for a little bit, but at the least 20 minutes.

In the mean-time, you can wash everything and prepare it for the next steps. Take the freshly washed small bowl, add in the two green onions, rest of the olive oil, lemon zest and a bit of the lemon juice.

When the chicken/potatoes are done marinating, toss it all on one metal cookie sheet (I’ve found that glass doesn’t work as well), and toss it in the oven at 425 for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, top the chicken/potatoes with the second combination of lemon zest, oil, and onions and dump it on top. Continue to let the chicken/potatoes roast for another 25 minutes and call it done. You can take this time to wash everything back up and have all the dishes you need available (a wonderful thing when cooking with 1 square foot of counter space.

The greek yogurt & arugula sauce is totally optional. I’ve played with this sauce quite a bit. In the picture above I used sour cream, garlic, cilantro, and lemon juice. I just eyeball everything and it typically turns out. If you’re looking to keep this pretty healthy and light, taking off the sauce is definitely an option.

I love this recipe and it’s definitely made my life easier. I call back to it frequently when I’ve had a long day or need to pull out an old reliable recipe.

I hope you enjoy it as well!

 

Leave a Reply

