Marinade? More like Mari-bae.

I must have been living under a rock my whole life because I have clearly not been eating enough marinated chicken. I found another recipe in my cookbook that I wanted to try, this one from Lebanon that called for a marinade and this decision I absolutely didn’t regret. Making the marinade was the easy part, however, waiting for that marinade to do its business was another obstacle. I mean, just look at this:

IMG_2426

It consists of greek yogurt, olive oil, lemon zest & the juice of said lemon, thyme, cilantro, cinnamon, sumac, and salt & pepper. I let it sit for around seven hours covered in the fridge, which was difficult, but you could cook this in as little as three hours or as late as the next day. You could probably add other spices & herbs to this mix of goodness, like harissa, mint, or rosemary. I’ve found chicken thighs can pretty much absorb anything you throw at it.

After waiting, I roasted some sweet potatoes and began to broil these morsels. I’ve found my new oven’s broiler is an open flame, so I made sure to keep an eye on them as I roasted them for 12 minutes on each side. If you have a mesh screen to place over your dish, I’d recommend using it.

The recipe then calls for you to pull them out of the oven, cover in foil and place back in the oven at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. After the final 10 minutes in the oven, turn off then oven, and give them 10 minutes to cool down in the still hot oven. Pull them out and you’ll be ready to go.

IMG_2448

I served with lemon wedges and like I said, I probably could have added some harissa to eat these with. I also made a lemon-garlic sauce to ladle over the top that I could have taken or left. The chicken on it’s own was downright delicious. I’d definitely make this again, probably with a few minor adjustments, like serving with rice or couscous and adding Sriracha to my marinade.

 

Leave a Reply

